Unreleased and New Card Discussion

Eyecut
Posts: 5
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Eyecut » 1 year ago

folding_music wrote:
1 year ago
thinking about how Volrath EDH could be the evil version of Kraj EDH!
Looks like an alternative clone commander to a Mimeoplasm deck, and It'll fit experimental kraj easily.

User avatar
Cyberium
Posts: 507
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Cyberium » 1 year ago

3drinks wrote:
1 year ago
67780871_1981681105266790_7763252760178327552_n.png

It's funny because I've been running astral slide and now I don't need an Exalted Angel specifically to do that bait and switch trick......................................
How about Aminatou? O_O

User avatar
3drinks
Bust Lands and Shred Hands
Posts: 1951
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Nomad Outpost, Tarkir
Contact:

Post by 3drinks » 1 year ago

Cyberium wrote:
1 year ago
3drinks wrote:
1 year ago
67780871_1981681105266790_7763252760178327552_n.png

It's funny because I've been running astral slide and now I don't need an Exalted Angel specifically to do that bait and switch trick......................................
How about Aminatou? O_O
Sorcery speed though and 1/turn, but it works too.
Tibalt's #1 Fan & Personal Liaison to Kaalia of the Vast.
MTG: Commander
WBRTrynn & Silvar [WIP Rebel Yell - Multiplayer Conscious]
BRGKorvold, Fae-Cursed King [White Borders Edition]
RKari Zev, Skyship Raider [Secret Torbran Deck]
WBRKaalia of the Vast [THE Definitive Primer now feat. the other Kaalia!]

User avatar
Mookie
Posts: 1602
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 20
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: the æthereal plane

Post by Mookie » 1 year ago

I'm not a fan of Pendant of Prosperity, mostly because I dislike kingmaking, which this feels like. It is a powerful draw engine though, assuming your opponent is activating it frequently.

Scroll of Fate is a snap include in Brago, King Eternal. Free Sphinx of Uthuun or Luminate Primordial seems really good, even if you do need to wait for a flicker effect or Brago trigger. Alternatively, go old-school with Phyrexian Dreadnought. I'm sure there are other degenerate use cases too.

Volrath, the Shapestealer looks interesting. Seven power suggests a voltron strategy, and should be easy enough to copy something evasive. Alternatively, I'm sure people will think of some interesting combos you could go with, like Devoted Druid + Quillspike + Llanowar Tribe.

Gift of Doom - not my sort of thing, but it is exploring some new design space. Also looks to be the first black aura that grants indestructible, which is new. Potential option for protecting your commander, which may be relevant given the two voltron-ish commanders they've revealed for the Sultai deck.

User avatar
lyonhaert
Posts: 557
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 2
Pronoun: they / them

Post by lyonhaert » 1 year ago

Better Pendant breaking: Homeward Path and make the Pendant a creature, and Brooding Saurian. It's one thing if my opponents actually activate it, but I can't really depend on them for that. At least a couple of my friends would let it sit there just to spite me.
Rebuilding
r Zada Arcane Storm
rbu Marchesa
To-Build Pool
gwu Estrid
gwr Samut?
urb Kess
{r/w}{u/b} Akiri & Silas
bwr Alesha
r Neheb Dragons
g Nylea Wurm/Hydra
w Darien
u Tetsuko
b The Abyss — a mono-black EDH Discord b

User avatar
SocorroTortoise
Not A Turtle
Posts: 332
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by SocorroTortoise » 1 year ago

Apex Altisaur is my favorite spoiler so far. Comes down and probably kills the two biggest threats on board, then sits there and regulates boards until removed. It looks like a lot of fun as long as you're cheating the cost somehow, because that's a horrifying CMC when you're playing fair.
[Pr]Jaya | Estrid | A rotating cast of decks built out of my box

User avatar
lyonhaert
Posts: 557
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 2
Pronoun: they / them

Post by lyonhaert » 1 year ago

Thieving Amalgam -- I want one.
Rebuilding
r Zada Arcane Storm
rbu Marchesa
To-Build Pool
gwu Estrid
gwr Samut?
urb Kess
{r/w}{u/b} Akiri & Silas
bwr Alesha
r Neheb Dragons
g Nylea Wurm/Hydra
w Darien
u Tetsuko
b The Abyss — a mono-black EDH Discord b

User avatar
Rumpy5897
Tuner of Jank
Posts: 1441
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Rumpy5897 » 1 year ago

Yeah, I just look at that thing and can't stop a dumb grin from crawling on my face. Such a cool design in every way possible. I have no home for it, but I'm happy it exists. If the rest of the decks maintain the morph list's quality, we've got a return to form after a two-year slump. Coincidence, just as Ethan Fleischer returns on lead? I think not!

User avatar
Cyberium
Posts: 507
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Cyberium » 1 year ago

3drinks wrote:
1 year ago
Cyberium wrote:
1 year ago

How about Aminatou? O_O
Sorcery speed though and 1/turn, but it works too.
Blue instead of red, there will be more blinking in addition to herself. :3

User avatar
Hermes_
Posts: 703
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Hermes_ » 1 year ago

Thought sponge looks like it can be useful
The Secret of Commander (EDH)
Sheldon-"The secret of this format is in not breaking it. "

User avatar
darrenhabib
Posts: 1475
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by darrenhabib » 1 year ago

A couple of nice pick ups for my Aminatou, the Fateshifter deck with both Scroll of Fate and Pendant of Prosperity.

I can cast Pendant of Prosperity and then use Aminatou [-1] exile ability to return it to my control immediately. Drawing 2 cards and putting 2 lands into play seems like a good rate, especially as Esper doesn't really have much land ramp.

With Scroll of Fate I can manifest some of the high converted mana cost cards, like Omniscience for example and then use Aminatou [-1] exile ability to return it to the battlefield face up.

User avatar
DirkGently
My wins are unconditional
Posts: 1706
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by DirkGently » 1 year ago

darrenhabib wrote:
1 year ago
I can cast Pendant of Prosperity and then use Aminatou [-1] exile ability to return it to my control immediately. Drawing 2 cards and putting 2 lands into play seems like a good rate, especially as Esper doesn't really have much land ramp.
Amulet enters the battlefield under an opponents control. Blinking it will let you change the opponent but you'll still have to pick one.

To get it back, you can either...
brooding saurian-type un-theft effect
steal artifact-type take it back yourself
mirage mirror-type it was yours all along
...maybe some other sillier ways, like put it into play face-down and then figure out a way to flip it face-up without it leaving the battlefield?

You might also just get it back if they're dead...I'm not 100% clear on the rules for control effects when a player leaves the game. I think you don't, but I'm not totally sure.

LastConformist
Posts: 9
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by LastConformist » 1 year ago

DirkGently wrote:
1 year ago
darrenhabib wrote:
1 year ago
I can cast Pendant of Prosperity and then use Aminatou [-1] exile ability to return it to my control immediately. Drawing 2 cards and putting 2 lands into play seems like a good rate, especially as Esper doesn't really have much land ramp.
Amulet enters the battlefield under an opponents control. Blinking it will let you change the opponent but you'll still have to pick one.

To get it back, you can either...
brooding saurian-type un-theft effect
steal artifact-type take it back yourself
mirage mirror-type it was yours all along
...maybe some other sillier ways, like put it into play face-down and then figure out a way to flip it face-up without it leaving the battlefield?

You might also just get it back if they're dead...I'm not 100% clear on the rules for control effects when a player leaves the game. I think you don't, but I'm not totally sure.
Aminatou, the Fateshifter explicitly says that the exiled card returns to the battlefield under your control, though. Do we know which would take precedence?

User avatar
ISBPathfinder
Bebopin
Posts: 1134
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: SD, USA

Post by ISBPathfinder » 1 year ago

Man...... I didn't like any of the spoils from today. I really hope we see some better product tomorrow as today was..... not inspiring for me.
[EDH] Sram (auras) | Bruna | Heliod | Sai | Naban | Anje

User avatar
Sanity_Eclipse
Posts: 202
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Sanity_Eclipse » 1 year ago

Rumpy5897 wrote:
1 year ago
There's a thread in previews already, but here ya go:
"Image"
Well that's interesting. Our first ever Vampire if I recall correctly, and an interesting card without being stupid or completely one-sided in power, going both ways.

Would something like Jodah's Avenger work for giving Rayami double strike? And I would assume that since other creatures get exiled with a counter and stay that way unless Riftsweepered, Rayami could come back from the command zone just as powerful as before if killed / bounced / whatever?
______

I'm leaning towards getting the Morph deck at this point. Even if I don't build anyone from it, it seems like the coolest and most interesting deck to me so far.
Last edited by Sanity_Eclipse 1 year ago, edited 1 time in total.
- Lyra -

- Naru Meha -

- Liliana -

- Chandra - Lovisa -

- Nissa - Titania -

- Lavinia X -
- Elenda -
- Yuriko -
- Jhoira-G - Saheeli -
-
- Glissa - Lathril - Meren -
-
-
-
- Koma -
-
- Anafenza -
- Alela - Sen Triplets -
- Narset -
- Inalla -
- Sidisi -
-
- Kaalia-V -
-
- Xyris

User avatar
Cyberium
Posts: 507
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Cyberium » 1 year ago

I'm starting to see Scroll of Fate as a pseudo "discard outlet" that could attack and block.

User avatar
ISBPathfinder
Bebopin
Posts: 1134
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: SD, USA

Post by ISBPathfinder » 1 year ago

Sanity_Eclipse wrote:
1 year ago
Would something like Jodah's Avenger work for giving Rayami double strike?
I don't believe that works as the card doesn't actually normally have that effect. It might be worth asking in the rulings section though but I don't think that works.
[EDH] Sram (auras) | Bruna | Heliod | Sai | Naban | Anje

User avatar
tstorm823
Knowledge Pool
Posts: 613
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 2
Pronoun: he / him
Location: York, PA

Post by tstorm823 » 1 year ago

With regard to Pendant of Prosperity and Zedruu: It's got potential, maybe. It costs 3 mana, so it casts the turn before Zedruu and gives you Zedruu draws ASAP. This is the same curve as Political Trickery, which I love, and is even easier to cast since it's all colorless mana. But a smart opponent shouldn't be activating this often, making it a self-donating do-nothing. Almost as bad, a poor opponent will likely spam this and make the other players mad, which isn't a great play pattern. So I'm going to judge the card as if it never gets activated, and go back to that Political Trickery comparison. I've gotten mega-milage out of Political Trickery as a 3 mana spell to set up Zedruu with the fringe benefit of sometimes mana fixing and sometimes disrupting people with fancy lands. Pendant would offer the same 3 mana spell to set up Zedruu, but instead the fringe benefit is the possibility of stealing it with a steal spell to double explore or potentially the controller getting desperate.

Really specific side note: not too long ago, Wizard's changed the rules about ownership of tokens. The rule used to be the owner of a token was whoever it entered the battlefield under. They changed the rule to the owner being whoever made the token, but then they errata'd cards like Forbidden Orchard from "put a token into play under target opponent's control" to "target opponent creates a token", meaning the rule change has had no functional effect on any token making cards. The only scenarios that were actually changed were really corner cases like Gather Specimens, where the Gather Specimens player used to own the tokens, but now the player who would otherwise get them is the owner. The rules format of Pendant of Prosperity adds another corner case where the rules change actually matters, since if I make token copies of the Pendant, I own those tokens rather than the person whose control those tokens enter under.
LastConformist wrote:
1 year ago
Aminatou, the Fateshifter explicitly says that the exiled card returns to the battlefield under your control, though. Do we know which would take precedence?
I'm not positive, but I think the Pendant's ability wins out. The only other card I've found with this sort of template is Captive Audience, and I haven't found anyone on the internet trying to flicker that back to their side of the field, but given that they were probably formulating the rules text to not let either of these things accidentally land under their owner's control, I'm inclined to think that it's intended to always enter that way regardless of how it enters the battlefield.

I'd enjoy if it went the other way, but I think this question will have to go to an official rules source. I see nothing in the comprehensive rules that covers this specifically.
DirkGently wrote:
1 year ago
You might also just get it back if they're dead...I'm not 100% clear on the rules for control effects when a player leaves the game. I think you don't, but I'm not totally sure.
This I can answer confidently, you don't get this back if they die. There are two ways to get control of something. Either it enters the battlefield under your control, or an effect gives you control. When someone leaves the game, every effect that gave them control ends, and that's how you get things back when people die. But this enters under their control, so there is no effect to end, which means it stays around to the last step of a player leaving the game which is "exile everything they still control".
Zedruu: "This deck is not only able to go crazy - it also needs to do so."

User avatar
Serenade
UnderKing
Posts: 748
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Serenade » 1 year ago

Thieving Amalgam is interesting "mill" design.
Mirri, Cat Warrior counts as a Cat Warrior.

User avatar
vandertroll
A shrubbery?!
Posts: 129
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Athens, GR

Post by vandertroll » 1 year ago

I'm still gonna try to kill people with Hatred and new Volrath ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Ertai, Wizard Adept counts as a Wizard.

User avatar
3drinks
Bust Lands and Shred Hands
Posts: 1951
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Nomad Outpost, Tarkir
Contact:

Post by 3drinks » 1 year ago

67608101_1983330248435209_6988586620148514816_n.png
So there's a game changer...................... (obligatory revel in riches plug)
Tibalt's #1 Fan & Personal Liaison to Kaalia of the Vast.
MTG: Commander
WBRTrynn & Silvar [WIP Rebel Yell - Multiplayer Conscious]
BRGKorvold, Fae-Cursed King [White Borders Edition]
RKari Zev, Skyship Raider [Secret Torbran Deck]
WBRKaalia of the Vast [THE Definitive Primer now feat. the other Kaalia!]

User avatar
SocorroTortoise
Not A Turtle
Posts: 332
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by SocorroTortoise » 1 year ago

Ignite the Future is excellent. I love the trend towards having red's impulse draw stick around through the end of the next turn.
[Pr]Jaya | Estrid | A rotating cast of decks built out of my box

User avatar
3drinks
Bust Lands and Shred Hands
Posts: 1951
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Nomad Outpost, Tarkir
Contact:

Post by 3drinks » 1 year ago

SocorroTortoise wrote:
1 year ago
Ignite the Future is excellent. I love the trend towards having red's impulse draw stick around through the end of the next turn.
That flashback has me cautiously nervous. Free spells are always asking for trouble. But, yes, great card and I love it.
Tibalt's #1 Fan & Personal Liaison to Kaalia of the Vast.
MTG: Commander
WBRTrynn & Silvar [WIP Rebel Yell - Multiplayer Conscious]
BRGKorvold, Fae-Cursed King [White Borders Edition]
RKari Zev, Skyship Raider [Secret Torbran Deck]
WBRKaalia of the Vast [THE Definitive Primer now feat. the other Kaalia!]

User avatar
Serenade
UnderKing
Posts: 748
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Serenade » 1 year ago

Mmmmm, love that pillowfort wall legends.
Mirri, Cat Warrior counts as a Cat Warrior.

User avatar
folding_music
minus 75% EDH
Posts: 1169
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: they / them

Post by folding_music » 1 year ago

looks like an easy upgrade to the flashback deck will be tossing in a copy of Dream Halls!

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Commander”