Progenitus Question
Community Rules
‖ Forum rules
-
the caterpillar
- Posts: 1796
- Joined: 6 years ago
- Pronoun: Unlisted
- Location: Ohio
I have Progenitus on the battle field. If my opponent attacks with Sun Titan and brings back Unable to Scream, I believe he can put it on Progenitus because it doesn't target. However, does it immediately fall because of protection or does Progenitus lose all abilities and thus keeps being unable to scream?
Accepted Answer
Even this form of enchanting - when an Aura is put onto the battlefield without being cast - does not work on Progenitus. That is what the "cannot be enchanted" part of protection means; it's not legal to choose in the first place any more than, say, a land would be for Unable to Scream.
By contrast, an already enchanted creature that later gains protection from a color would have all Auras of that color on it be put into their owners' graveyards.
Go to full postBy contrast, an already enchanted creature that later gains protection from a color would have all Auras of that color on it be put into their owners' graveyards.
-
Lily-and-Pearl Prince
- Posts: 18209
- Joined: 6 years ago
- Pronoun: he / him
- Location: Oreskos, Theros
Even this form of enchanting - when an Aura is put onto the battlefield without being cast - does not work on Progenitus. That is what the "cannot be enchanted" part of protection means; it's not legal to choose in the first place any more than, say, a land would be for Unable to Scream.
By contrast, an already enchanted creature that later gains protection from a color would have all Auras of that color on it be put into their owners' graveyards.
By contrast, an already enchanted creature that later gains protection from a color would have all Auras of that color on it be put into their owners' graveyards.
Psst, check the second page of Custom Card Contests & Games for more quick reply games! | Collaborative Create-A-Booster | My random creations (updated regularly)
Important Facts: Colorless is not a color, Wastes is not a land type, Changeling is not a creature type, Kindred is a card type, and typal is a general term for caring about subtypes.
Important Facts: Colorless is not a color, Wastes is not a land type, Changeling is not a creature type, Kindred is a card type, and typal is a general term for caring about subtypes.
-
the caterpillar
- Posts: 1796
- Joined: 6 years ago
- Pronoun: Unlisted
- Location: Ohio
Ah. I had protection mentally shortcutted as shroud that makes auras already on fall off. Which is pretty functionally close but clearly not identical.void_nothing wrote: ↑2 months agoEven this form of enchanting - when an Aura is put onto the battlefield without being cast - does not work on Progenitus. That is what the "cannot be enchanted" part of protection means; it's not legal to choose in the first place any more than, say, a land would be for Unable to Scream.
By contrast, an already enchanted creature that later gains protection from a color would have all Auras of that color on it be put into their owners' graveyards.