phoenix leaving the graveyard timing

User avatar
go to style guide jail
Posts: 3112
Joined: 6 years ago
Pronoun: they / them

Post by folding_music 3 months ago

Quintorius, Field Historian

Detective's Phoenix || Lamplight Phoenix || Phoenix of Ash

how many Quintorius triggers do you get from each of these phoenix return abilities? I'm guessing 2, 1, 2? i feel like I don't entirely understand how the wording pertains to the timing of paying the cost and so forth. thanks!

Accepted Answer

by WizardMN » 3 months ago
Yes, I would agree with you on the numbers. The first thing you do when casting a spell is put it on the stack. This creates one trigger. Then you do a bunch of other stuff. Then you pay the cost(s). In this case, this would create another trigger. So, for the two cards being cast from the yard that then also exile cards as a cost, you would have 2 triggers.

For the Lamplight Phoenix, the trigger is telling you to do everything at once. It says exile it and 4 other cards. Since this is all one instruction, they all leave the yard at the same time. So Quintorius sees this as one instance of "one or more" and only triggers once.
Go to full post
not linking to itch io until they do something about the payment overlords!

User avatar
Posts: 2194
Joined: 6 years ago
Answers: 159
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Twin Cities

Post by WizardMN 3 months ago

Yes, I would agree with you on the numbers. The first thing you do when casting a spell is put it on the stack. This creates one trigger. Then you do a bunch of other stuff. Then you pay the cost(s). In this case, this would create another trigger. So, for the two cards being cast from the yard that then also exile cards as a cost, you would have 2 triggers.

For the Lamplight Phoenix, the trigger is telling you to do everything at once. It says exile it and 4 other cards. Since this is all one instruction, they all leave the yard at the same time. So Quintorius sees this as one instance of "one or more" and only triggers once.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”