Quintorius, Field Historian
Detective's Phoenix || Lamplight Phoenix || Phoenix of Ash
how many Quintorius triggers do you get from each of these phoenix return abilities? I'm guessing 2, 1, 2? i feel like I don't entirely understand how the wording pertains to the timing of paying the cost and so forth. thanks!
phoenix leaving the graveyard timing
Community Rules
‖ Forum rules
-
go to style guide jail
- Posts: 3112
- Joined: 6 years ago
- Pronoun: they / them
Accepted Answer
Yes, I would agree with you on the numbers. The first thing you do when casting a spell is put it on the stack. This creates one trigger. Then you do a bunch of other stuff. Then you pay the cost(s). In this case, this would create another trigger. So, for the two cards being cast from the yard that then also exile cards as a cost, you would have 2 triggers.
For the Lamplight Phoenix, the trigger is telling you to do everything at once. It says exile it and 4 other cards. Since this is all one instruction, they all leave the yard at the same time. So Quintorius sees this as one instance of "one or more" and only triggers once.
Go to full postFor the Lamplight Phoenix, the trigger is telling you to do everything at once. It says exile it and 4 other cards. Since this is all one instruction, they all leave the yard at the same time. So Quintorius sees this as one instance of "one or more" and only triggers once.
not linking to itch io until they do something about the payment overlords!
- Posts: 2194
- Joined: 6 years ago
- Pronoun: he / him
- Location: Twin Cities
Yes, I would agree with you on the numbers. The first thing you do when casting a spell is put it on the stack. This creates one trigger. Then you do a bunch of other stuff. Then you pay the cost(s). In this case, this would create another trigger. So, for the two cards being cast from the yard that then also exile cards as a cost, you would have 2 triggers.
For the Lamplight Phoenix, the trigger is telling you to do everything at once. It says exile it and 4 other cards. Since this is all one instruction, they all leave the yard at the same time. So Quintorius sees this as one instance of "one or more" and only triggers once.
For the Lamplight Phoenix, the trigger is telling you to do everything at once. It says exile it and 4 other cards. Since this is all one instruction, they all leave the yard at the same time. So Quintorius sees this as one instance of "one or more" and only triggers once.