Kain and sacrifice

User avatar
Posts: 137
Joined: 6 years ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Siemianowice, Poland

Post by Artaud 1 month ago

I control Commander Kain, Traitorous Dragoon equipped with Thirsting Axe. What happens EOT when I hit a player and give Kain to them? Will I get to sacrifice him (Kain, not player) even if he's not under my control?

The same question for unattaching Grafted Wargear / Stitcher's Graft from Kain after he was donated

Accepted Answer

by WizardMN » 1 month ago
No, you cannot sacrifice permanents you don't control. If the effect said "its controller sacrifices Kain" it would likely work fine but since all of those cards imply the controller of the equipment need to sac Kain, and you don't also control Kain, that part of the instruction will fail. If you want it to work that way, you need to find a way to also donate the Equipment.
Go to full post

User avatar
Posts: 2194
Joined: 6 years ago
Answers: 159
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Twin Cities

Post by WizardMN 1 month ago

No, you cannot sacrifice permanents you don't control. If the effect said "its controller sacrifices Kain" it would likely work fine but since all of those cards imply the controller of the equipment need to sac Kain, and you don't also control Kain, that part of the instruction will fail. If you want it to work that way, you need to find a way to also donate the Equipment.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”