Hey there, wanted to know how the following interaction works:
I control Myrkul, Lord of Bones and Living Plane. If I play Wrath of God, my lands will return to play. But from my understanding, lands with a card type will no longer be able to produce mana. But lands without card types, like City of Brass will still be able to produce mana.
Please let me know if that is correct, and if I'm missing anything. Thanks for your help!
Myrkul, Lord of Bones + Living Plane
Community Rules
‖ Forum rules
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: 1 year ago
- Pronoun: he / him
Accepted Answer
If your interpretation is what I think it is, it's the correct one. Only lands can have basic land types, and those types have inherent rules meaning granting a mana ability. In other words, a Snow-Covered Forest that is a creature due to Living Plane dying while you control Myrkul, Lord of Bones can only produce a copy that is a colorless snow enchantment with no abilities.
However, lands that don't have basic land types usually also have mana abilities, but that are expressed as activated abilities within their text boxes. Myrkul's ability will produce enchantment copies of them that do still have those mana abilities.
Go to full postHowever, lands that don't have basic land types usually also have mana abilities, but that are expressed as activated abilities within their text boxes. Myrkul's ability will produce enchantment copies of them that do still have those mana abilities.
-
Lily-and-Pearl Prince
- Posts: 18209
- Joined: 6 years ago
- Pronoun: he / him
- Location: Oreskos, Theros
If your interpretation is what I think it is, it's the correct one. Only lands can have basic land types, and those types have inherent rules meaning granting a mana ability. In other words, a Snow-Covered Forest that is a creature due to Living Plane dying while you control Myrkul, Lord of Bones can only produce a copy that is a colorless snow enchantment with no abilities.
However, lands that don't have basic land types usually also have mana abilities, but that are expressed as activated abilities within their text boxes. Myrkul's ability will produce enchantment copies of them that do still have those mana abilities.
However, lands that don't have basic land types usually also have mana abilities, but that are expressed as activated abilities within their text boxes. Myrkul's ability will produce enchantment copies of them that do still have those mana abilities.
Psst, check the second page of Custom Card Contests & Games for more quick reply games! | Collaborative Create-A-Booster | My random creations (updated regularly)
Important Facts: Colorless is not a color, Wastes is not a land type, Changeling is not a creature type, Kindred is a card type, and typal is a general term for caring about subtypes.
Important Facts: Colorless is not a color, Wastes is not a land type, Changeling is not a creature type, Kindred is a card type, and typal is a general term for caring about subtypes.
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: 1 year ago
- Pronoun: he / him
@void_nothing Great, thank you!