Tersa Lightshatter
What happens if I copy Tersa's attack ability and have 7 cards in gy?
Tersa Lightshatter
Community Rules
‖ Forum rules
- Posts: 364
- Joined: 5 years ago
- Pronoun: Unlisted
Accepted Answer
Tersa has an "intervening...if" clause which means her condition is checked when it triggers and when it goes to resolve. In this case, since there are exactly 7 cards in the yard, you will have the first trigger resolve as normal and it will exile a card. Then the second trigger goes to resolve and sees only 6 cards in the yard and won't do anything since the condition is false.
This does mean though that after the first trigger resolves and a card is exiled, you could get the count in the yard back to 7 by casting a spell that will then go to the graveyard on resolution. Maybe her first trigger exiled a Lightning Bolt so, before the second trigger resolves, you cast Bolt. It will then go to the yard and then you will be back to 7 in the graveyard in time for the second trigger to see 7 there in order to resolve
Go to full postThis does mean though that after the first trigger resolves and a card is exiled, you could get the count in the yard back to 7 by casting a spell that will then go to the graveyard on resolution. Maybe her first trigger exiled a Lightning Bolt so, before the second trigger resolves, you cast Bolt. It will then go to the yard and then you will be back to 7 in the graveyard in time for the second trigger to see 7 there in order to resolve
- Posts: 2195
- Joined: 6 years ago
- Pronoun: he / him
- Location: Twin Cities
Tersa has an "intervening...if" clause which means her condition is checked when it triggers and when it goes to resolve. In this case, since there are exactly 7 cards in the yard, you will have the first trigger resolve as normal and it will exile a card. Then the second trigger goes to resolve and sees only 6 cards in the yard and won't do anything since the condition is false.
This does mean though that after the first trigger resolves and a card is exiled, you could get the count in the yard back to 7 by casting a spell that will then go to the graveyard on resolution. Maybe her first trigger exiled a Lightning Bolt so, before the second trigger resolves, you cast Bolt. It will then go to the yard and then you will be back to 7 in the graveyard in time for the second trigger to see 7 there in order to resolve
This does mean though that after the first trigger resolves and a card is exiled, you could get the count in the yard back to 7 by casting a spell that will then go to the graveyard on resolution. Maybe her first trigger exiled a Lightning Bolt so, before the second trigger resolves, you cast Bolt. It will then go to the yard and then you will be back to 7 in the graveyard in time for the second trigger to see 7 there in order to resolve