Clavileño, First of the Blessed

User avatar
Bebopin
Posts: 2453
Joined: 6 years ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: SD, USA

Post by ISBPathfinder 4 months ago

If I have Clavileño, First of the Blessed and I give him myriad via something like Blade of Selves, when I attack I can order Clavileno's trigger to resolve first and then Myraid. Do the Myriad tokens that enter have his trigger to draw a card and make a 4/3 demon on death? I would assume not..... its just really weird templating because its not like a counter or something making him a demon with those attributes making me kind of confused about it. Just checking.

Accepted Answer

by Argus » 4 months ago
ISBPathfinder wrote:
4 months ago
Do the Myriad tokens that enter have his trigger to draw a card and make a 4/3 demon on death?
No. That triggered ability is not part of the copiable values.
707.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object's
characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode,
targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The
copiable values are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name,
mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or
loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by "as . . . enters" and "as .
. . is turned face up" abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional
characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, counters,
and stickers are not copied.

Example: Chimeric Staff is an artifact that reads, ": This artifact becomes an X/X
Construct artifact creature until end of turn." Clone is a creature that reads, "You may have
this creature enter as a copy of any creature on the battlefield." After a Staff has become a
5/5 Construct artifact creature, a Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of it. The Clone is an
artifact, not a 5/5 Construct artifact creature. (The copy has the Staff's ability, however, and
will become a creature if that ability is activated.)
Example: Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of a face-down Grinning Demon (a creature
with morph ). The Clone is a colorless 2/2 creature with no name, no types, no
abilities, and no mana cost. It will still be face up. Its controller can't pay to turn
it face up.
Go to full post
[EDH] Gylwain List | Heliod List

Posts: 85
Joined: 6 years ago
Answers: 56
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Argus 4 months ago

ISBPathfinder wrote:
4 months ago
Do the Myriad tokens that enter have his trigger to draw a card and make a 4/3 demon on death?
No. That triggered ability is not part of the copiable values.
707.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object's
characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode,
targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The
copiable values are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name,
mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or
loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by "as . . . enters" and "as .
. . is turned face up" abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional
characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, counters,
and stickers are not copied.

Example: Chimeric Staff is an artifact that reads, ": This artifact becomes an X/X
Construct artifact creature until end of turn." Clone is a creature that reads, "You may have
this creature enter as a copy of any creature on the battlefield." After a Staff has become a
5/5 Construct artifact creature, a Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of it. The Clone is an
artifact, not a 5/5 Construct artifact creature. (The copy has the Staff's ability, however, and
will become a creature if that ability is activated.)
Example: Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of a face-down Grinning Demon (a creature
with morph ). The Clone is a colorless 2/2 creature with no name, no types, no
abilities, and no mana cost. It will still be face up. Its controller can't pay to turn
it face up.
Why bother with mere rulings when so many answers can be found in the Rules?

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”