Maelstrom Wanderer a.k.a. The Kool-Aid Man

ZenN
Pronoun: he / him

Post by ZenN » 4 years ago

I've been playing Wanderer for almost 5 years now. In that time, the list has gone through several iterations of various power levels. With my play group being primarily focused on a "75%" environment, it has been a continuous balancing act to try to keep the deck from being too powerful while still being a solid contender at our tables. This current iteration represents the happiest I've been with the list, and it is not only currently my favourite deck, but has been for some time now. So, with me finally getting around to posting some things on here after all the drama with the old site, I figured I might as well start with this one!

I've intentionally avoided any infinite combos or mass land destruction, as well as having intentionally excluded certain powerhouse cards, like Food Chain or too many extra turn spells. I've purposely built out the deck to be resilient rather than overly explosive. Every ramp card in the deck is capable of netting 2+ mana, in addition to being divided between land fetching, mana rocks, mana dorks, and mana producing enchantments and planeswalkers. This helps reduce the vulnerability of the mana base, so recasting Wanderer is rarely an issue after someone inevitably wipes the board.

He (it?) became known as the Kool-Aid Man in my play group because he's always breaking through people's boards, and I may have a tendency of saying, "OH YEAH!", in an obnoxiously deep voice every time I cast him... In any case, here's the list! There's an obvious focus on playing sweet fatties, with a bit of a sub-theme of taking opponents' things, with cards like Etali, Primal Storm, Agent of Treachery, Archmage's Charm, Bribery, and Blatant Thievery.

Maelstrom Wanderer

Commander (1)

Approximate Total Cost:

Current shortlist of cards being considered includes:
Last edited by ZenN 3 years ago, edited 24 times in total.
Commander