Greven, Predator Captain

SocorroTortoise
Not A Turtle
Pronoun: he / him

Post by SocorroTortoise » 4 years ago

Greven is a nostalgia bomb for me. I started playing in Tempest block, so the Weatherlight story is a very familiar one, and one of my first EDH decks back in the day was built around the OG Commander Greven il-Vec. Building the new Greven is more or less a given for me and I'm planning on using something along these lines as a starting point.
Decklist

Miscellaneous Artifact

Approximate Total Cost:

Decklist by Function
Show
Hide
Decklist
Approximate Total Cost:

Realistically, this deck should play out like a big red burn deck. Greven is an effective beater and there's a lot of burn that can go to the dome to finish people off. There are also a few spells that work extremely well with Greven's static buff. Things like Heartless Hidetsugu and Price of Progress threaten to turn Greven into either a 1 or 2 turn clock with relatively low investment. Odds are that I'm relying too heavily on Greven right now as both primary threat and card draw engine, so I'll probably try and shift to something a little less general reliant over time.

edit: Pulled Sneak Attack, Reassembling Skeleton, and Nether Traitor for Sign in Blood, Read the Bones, and Fire Covenant.

edit ii: Swapped Ancient Tomb, Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth, Shinka, the Bloodsoaked Keep, and Shizo, Death's Storehouse in for Mountain, Swamp, Snow-Covered Mountain, and Snow-Covered Swamp.
Last edited by SocorroTortoise 4 years ago, edited 5 times in total.
[Pr]Jaya | Estrid | A rotating cast of decks built out of my box

benjameenbear

Post by benjameenbear » 4 years ago