infinite reflection question

Community RulesCommunity Rules: Rulings Rules
Use Card Tags!
User avatar
folding_music
minus 75% EDH
Posts: 690
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: they / them
Has thanked: 274 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Post by folding_music » 2 months ago

with Titania's Song in play and Infinite Reflection attached to whatever, a grizzly bear, what happens when I cast Welding Jar? thank you

Accepted Answer

by wildfire393 » 2 months ago
When figuring out what replacement effects to apply as a permanent enters the battlefield, we first take into account any static abilities that would apply to that permanent when it's on the battlefield. The classic example of this is Blood Moon, which prevents lands from entering the battlefield with counters.

So in this circumstance, Welding Jar would be entering as a creature, so Infinite Reflection turns it into a Grizzly Bear.
Go to full post
Expand Signature

wildfire393
Posts: 77
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 1
Pronoun: he / him
Been thanked: 14 times

Titles & Recognition

Post by wildfire393 » 2 months ago

When figuring out what replacement effects to apply as a permanent enters the battlefield, we first take into account any static abilities that would apply to that permanent when it's on the battlefield. The classic example of this is Blood Moon, which prevents lands from entering the battlefield with counters.

So in this circumstance, Welding Jar would be entering as a creature, so Infinite Reflection turns it into a Grizzly Bear.

user_938036
Posts: 229
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 13
Pronoun: he / him
Been thanked: 50 times

Post by user_938036 » 2 months ago

What you have here is a classic dependency rather than the typical "timestamp" situation. Because the groups of cards that Infinite Reflection would change if you applied Titania's Song they are dependant so you apply Titania's Song first.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”