Dennick's Cockroach Mill

ISBPathfinder
Bebopin
Pronoun: he / him

Post by ISBPathfinder » 2 years ago

Dennick, Pious Apprentice

WARNING - this deck uses mill as its primary wincon. In general, mill is considered to be a poor win condition and can easily be meta countered by a number of cards that will make this tactic harder. Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre and Kozilek, Butcher of Truth and Nexus of Fate make this strategy significantly harder if and when opponents play them.

One day in the Random Card of the Day thread, Dennick popped up and suddenly I was looking for some way that the card was redeeming. I thought that the back side of his card was interesting but concerned with how hard it would be to kill him off to get at the backside as well as how annoying it would be if he gets killed. Eventually I just kept picking at it to the point that I started brewing to see what a decklist looked like but I surprised myself when I found myself eager to test what I had brewed at the end.

Table of Contents

Deck Overview

Lets talk about Dennick, Pious Apprentice specifically and what makes him an interesting commander choice.

Pros:
  • Dennick has a very low threat profile on both sides of his card. By this I mean that its very rare that someone wants to use spot removal on him because well, usually there is something way more pressing to use spot removal on.
  • Dennick (front) is cheap and it leads to playing him early at a stage I rarely have other plays to make.
  • Dennick (front) has lifelink and can do some early game pokes to give a life buffer. Even after everyone has superior creatures in play attacking with him is fine as you want him to die and even if he doesn't get killed in combat he can give you life or serve as a blocker. Either way he can buy you time and stall while on his front side.