ETB Layering

Legend
Lord of Ravnica
Posts: 199
Joined: 4 months ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Antiquity
Has thanked: 192 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Titles & Recognition

Post by Legend » 1 week ago

Does the second ability make it so that other artifact creatures will enter the battlefield with an Equipment token?

Armed Creature (Rare)
1
Artifact Creature - Construct
0/0
Armed 1 (This creature enters the battlefield equipped with a colorless artifact Equipment token. It has "Equip 1" and "Equipped creature gets +1/+1.")
Other artifact creatures you control have armed 1.
Expand Signature
Cube of Legend: The worst cube ever.

coco
Posts: 2
Joined: 1 month ago
Answers: 1
Pronoun: he / him
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by coco » 1 week ago

I think you would need to use the template seen on Bloodlord of Vaasgoth.

Legend
Lord of Ravnica
Posts: 199
Joined: 4 months ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Antiquity
Has thanked: 192 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Titles & Recognition

Post by Legend » 1 week ago

coco wrote:
1 week ago
I think you would need to use the template seen on Bloodlord of Vaasgoth.
Perfect thanks!
Expand Signature
Cube of Legend: The worst cube ever.

User avatar
void_nothing
Black Birch Sage
Posts: 1511
Joined: 5 months ago
Answers: 21
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Datlai Varn, Phlea
Has thanked: 138 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Titles & Recognition

Post by void_nothing » 1 week ago

Yes, replacement effects that say "As...enters the battlefield" or the related "...enters the battlefield with..." need to start applying before the appropriate permanent is on the battlefield. That is why the Bloodlord is templated as such.

User avatar
WizardMN
Posts: 179
Joined: 4 months ago
Answers: 14
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Twin Cities
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 37 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by WizardMN » 1 week ago

Well, Riot is a replacement effect and works just fine as seen on Rhythm of the Wild. There is no reason Armed wouldn't work as well since it is basically the same idea.

User avatar
void_nothing
Black Birch Sage
Posts: 1511
Joined: 5 months ago
Answers: 21
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Datlai Varn, Phlea
Has thanked: 138 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Titles & Recognition

Post by void_nothing » 1 week ago

WizardMN wrote:
1 week ago
Well, Riot is a replacement effect and works just fine as seen on Rhythm of the Wild. There is no reason Armed wouldn't work as well since it is basically the same idea.
That's true! I had forgot how Rhythm was templated, meaning the original wording works as well.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Custom Card Rulings”