The elderspell question

Community RulesCommunity Rules: Rulings Rules
Use Card Tags! ‖ Rulings Mods
User avatar
The Fluff
hell kitty
Posts: 626
Joined: 4 months ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Cape Suzette
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Post by The Fluff » 6 days ago

Hi, can I cast the elderspell to destroy enemy walkers even if I don't control any planeswalker?

Accepted Answer

by Feyd_Ruin » 6 days ago
Absolutely.

When card text simply says "Choose a __" you have to choose the relevant [object] when available, but it is not a requirement of casting the spell. If you have a planeswalker, you are required to choose it for getting counters, but it is not a requirement for casting the spell. All of the other effects (ie: destroying any number of planeswalkers) still happen.

Alternately, for context, if the card text says "target ___ you control", it would it require you to have the [object] to fulfill all required legal targets, which is part of casting a spell. Since this does not use the word target, and only "choose", it is not a targetting requirement, and thus not specifically necessary for the spell to be cast and resolve.
Go to full post
Expand Signature
Image
OE 2016 // POF 2018 // Super Bunny Man // Rachie
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

User avatar
Feyd_Ruin
Elder Vampire
Posts: 460
Joined: 6 months ago
Answers: 1
Pronoun: he / him
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 99 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by Feyd_Ruin » 6 days ago

Absolutely.

When card text simply says "Choose a __" you have to choose the relevant [object] when available, but it is not a requirement of casting the spell. If you have a planeswalker, you are required to choose it for getting counters, but it is not a requirement for casting the spell. All of the other effects (ie: destroying any number of planeswalkers) still happen.

Alternately, for context, if the card text says "target ___ you control", it would it require you to have the [object] to fulfill all required legal targets, which is part of casting a spell. Since this does not use the word target, and only "choose", it is not a targetting requirement, and thus not specifically necessary for the spell to be cast and resolve.
Expand Signature
  « Ex cineribus nos renatus. »  

User avatar
The Fluff
hell kitty
Posts: 626
Joined: 4 months ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Cape Suzette
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Post by The Fluff » 6 days ago

ah, great. Thanks for clearing that up. Gonna use this as a sideboard card. :)
Expand Signature
Image
OE 2016 // POF 2018 // Super Bunny Man // Rachie
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”