Sword of Sinew and Steel

Community RulesCommunity Rules: Rulings Rules
Use Card Tags! ‖ Rulings Mods
User avatar
The Fluff
hell kitty
Posts: 529
Joined: 3 months ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Cape Suzette
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 21 times
Contact:

Post by The Fluff » 1 week ago

Hi, when my creature equipped with sword of sinew and steel do combat damage to opponent.

Can 0 be chosen for target artifact, so I don't destroy my own sword?

Accepted Answer

by spacemonaut » 1 week ago
Yes. When something says "up to one target" you can choose no target for it. This means that for Sword of Sinew and Steel, you can target just a planeswalker, just an artifact, both, or neither. Not being forced to destroy your own stuff is exactly why they used the "up to one target" wording for this card. :)

Sword of Sinew and Steel doesn't have a ruling to this effect, but we can look at the rulings for Kiora, Master of the Depths instead. Her first ability says "+1: Untap up to one target creature and up to one target land", and she has the following ruling:
You can activate Kiora's first ability with no targets just to put a loyalty counter on her. (2015-08-25)
Go to full post
Expand Signature
Image
OE 2016 // POF 2018 // Super Bunny Man // Rachie
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

User avatar
spacemonaut
Creature — Human Artificer
Posts: 196
Joined: 3 months ago
Answers: 6
Pronoun: they / them
Location: London
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Post by spacemonaut » 1 week ago

Yes. When something says "up to one target" you can choose no target for it. This means that for Sword of Sinew and Steel, you can target just a planeswalker, just an artifact, both, or neither. Not being forced to destroy your own stuff is exactly why they used the "up to one target" wording for this card. :)

Sword of Sinew and Steel doesn't have a ruling to this effect, but we can look at the rulings for Kiora, Master of the Depths instead. Her first ability says "+1: Untap up to one target creature and up to one target land", and she has the following ruling:
You can activate Kiora's first ability with no targets just to put a loyalty counter on her. (2015-08-25)

User avatar
The Fluff
hell kitty
Posts: 529
Joined: 3 months ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Cape Suzette
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 21 times
Contact:

Post by The Fluff » 1 week ago

thanks a lot for the helpful explanation.
Expand Signature
Image
OE 2016 // POF 2018 // Super Bunny Man // Rachie
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”