Unreleased and New Card Discussion

User avatar
CommanderMaster999
Posts: 531
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by CommanderMaster999 » 2 months ago

Serenade wrote:
2 months ago
Acererak, Lord of Unlife + Aluren
Gross!
Grosser with any of these with this And others

Oh since it go back to your hand… Vela the Night-Clad as well

Just don't venture into that particular dugeon

User avatar
Serenade
UnderKing
Posts: 872
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Serenade » 2 months ago

CommanderMaster999 wrote:
2 months ago
Serenade wrote:
2 months ago
Acererak, Lord of Unlife + Aluren
Gross!
Grosser with any of these with this And others

Oh since it go back to your hand… Vela the Night-Clad as well

Just don't venture into that particular dugeon
Those are overkill, though, right? You just run through Lost Mine of Phandelver, hit up the Dark Pool, and just win?
Mirri, Cat Warrior counts as a Cat Warrior.

BeneTleilax
Posts: 883
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by BeneTleilax » 2 months ago

This is still on the tame end of stupid Aluren crap.
Decks: Flicker Feather, Krenko, Varina, Zabaz

User avatar
Sanity_Eclipse
Posts: 318
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Sanity_Eclipse » 2 months ago

Sanity_Eclipse wrote:
2 months ago
White Dragon, Monk of the Open Hand, and Grand Master of Flowers from the Mothership today!
Plate Armor, Mordenkainen, True Polymorph have been added.
More Decks
Show
- Lyra - Naru Meha - Chandra - Lovisa - Nissa -
- Lavinia X - Yuriko - Jhoira - Saheeli - Glissa - Lathril - Meren - Koma -
- Anafenza - Alela - Sen Triplets - Inalla - Sidisi -
- Breya -

User avatar
folding_music
trelasarra main
Posts: 1410
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: they / them

Post by folding_music » 2 months ago

Inferno of the Star Mounts
Viscid Lemures
Havengul Lich

giggle
I know this is stupid, I was just thinking about ways you could hit 20 as many times as you want in a turn. Just add... a lot of mana

User avatar
Igzex
Posts: 111
Joined: 3 months ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Igzex » 2 months ago

So Inferno of the Star Mounts ...Yeah between this lovely thing and Old Gnawbone I think I actually wanna build Xenagos, God of Revels dragon tribal now. I wanna indulge in some Gratuitous Violence and HURT PEOPLE.

User avatar
Serenade
UnderKing
Posts: 872
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Serenade » 2 months ago

Can I save some mana by using Unleash Fury with Inferno?
Mirri, Cat Warrior counts as a Cat Warrior.

User avatar
Igzex
Posts: 111
Joined: 3 months ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Igzex » 2 months ago

Also finally a use for Crucible of Fire. With the Xenagos out, I only need to pay 2 red to do the Shinku Hadouken

User avatar
Hermes_
Posts: 861
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Hermes_ » 2 months ago

Sanity_Eclipse wrote:
2 months ago
Plate Armor
Voltron deck laughs and then realizes card is actually useless.....

Inferno of the Star Mounts tiem to remove one of the other dragons from my dragon deck finally
The Secret of Commander (EDH)
Sheldon-"The secret of this format is in not breaking it. "

User avatar
RedCheese
Posts: 187
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by RedCheese » 2 months ago

Hermes_ wrote:
2 months ago
Sanity_Eclipse wrote:
2 months ago
Plate Armor
Voltron deck laughs and then realizes card is actually useless.....

Inferno of the Star Mounts tiem to remove one of the other dragons from my dragon deck finally
Whats wrong with Plate Armor?

Wallycaine
Posts: 633
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Wallycaine » 2 months ago

Serenade wrote:
2 months ago
Can I save some mana by using Unleash Fury with Inferno?
You can, but you have to be careful not to go *over* 20 with it, since the ability only triggers on going to exactly 20. So the most efficent way to do it is to pump 3 times to get to 9 power, double the power with unleash, and then pump twice more to hit 20.

User avatar
JWK
Elder Thing
Posts: 465
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Post by JWK » 2 months ago

Pretty big flavor fail on Mordenkainen. He should not be mono-blue. He is obsessed with the concept of order (vs. chaos) and is very willing to sacrifice others for the cause of order, or for personal power that lets him better serve the cause. He really ought to be in Esper colors.
I have 68 active EDH decks, with more in progress. I don't consider this a problem. Do you?
I am also one of those barbarians who enjoys winning by turning creatures sideways.

User avatar
Mookie
Posts: 1943
Joined: 2 years ago
Answers: 23
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: the æthereal plane

Post by Mookie » 2 months ago

JWK wrote:
2 months ago
Pretty big flavor fail on Mordenkainen. He should not be mono-blue. He is obsessed with the concept of order (vs. chaos) and is very willing to sacrifice others for the cause of order, or for personal power that lets him better serve the cause. He really ought to be in Esper colors.
Possibly, but given that they're doing a monocolored cycle of walkers, they leaned towards just using the primary color of the character - and as a very powerful wizard, that's blue.

Anyway...
  • Hand of Vecna isn't that exciting, but it can represent a lot of stats for some decks. More interesting is the templating to pump up Vecna. Also, that art is.... chef's kiss.
  • Eye of Vecna is Phyrexian Arena lite - costs mana to use and more life, but you also draw a card immediately. Seems like an interesting draw engine for nonblack decks, although Mazemind Tome is probably better.
  • Grand Master of Flowers is some more fun templating - level him up enough and his ultimate is becoming a dragon god. Not the most exciting in EDH though.
  • True Polymorph seems a bit niche, but I assume there's a use case for it somewhere.
  • Acererak, Lord of Unlife is sweet. Probably will be used most often as a repeatable mana sink for venturing repeatedly (or a combo piece), but the payoff of a 5/5 that spawns a bunch of zombies on attack is also pretty strong.
  • Skeletal Swarming seems like a snap include for skeleton tribal decks.
  • Long Rest reads pretty bad - it looks a lot less efficient than Praetor's Counsel and Seasons Past. It does scale, but casting it for X=1 or 2 feels pretty bad (especially when Eternal Witness and Regrowth exist). Resetting your life total is certainly powerful, but also very difficult to pull off - eight different mana values is a lot.
  • Inferno of the Star Mounts is cool, but looks more geared towards Standard in the Thundermaw Hellkite 'big hasty dragon' slot. Still, blasting something for 20 is a lot.

User avatar
Crazy Monkey
Posts: 246
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: New Mexico, US

Post by Crazy Monkey » 2 months ago

So is True Polymorph the first non-permanent or temporary method to Imprisoned in the Moon a commander? I'd rather a problem commander be another Sol Ring than a must-answer card every turn. It's also copy/clone utility, but the 6 MV is a much higher than the Darksteel Mutation effects.
Commander Decks


Kemba | Kytheon | Talrand | Unesh | Teferi | Geth | primer Zada | Krenko | Torbran | Patron Orochi | Ghalta | Gargos | Medomai | Lavinia | Silumgar | The Count | Xenagos | Nikya | Trostani | Athreos | Jarad | Kydele & Thrasios | Nin | Krark & Sakashima | Gisela | Feather | Osgir | Roon | Chulane | Sydri | Ertai | Mairsil | Prossh | Marath | Marisi | Vial & Ravos | Marchesa | Syr Gwyn | Riku | Riku | Animar | Ghave | Tasigur | Muldrotha | Rayami | Zedruu | Yidris | Kynaios & Tiro | Saskia | Tymna & Kydele | Atraxa | Akiri & Silas | Genju | Sisay | Ur Dragon | Golos | Horde | Najeela | Traxos

User avatar
Rumpy5897
Tuner of Jank
Posts: 1553
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Rumpy5897 » 2 months ago

We technically had Mystic Reflection earlier too. Seems we're witnessing the rise of a new class of commander stuffers, and they don't feel as rules-loophole'y as tuck did, so that's a good thing. The recent prolonged phasing push doesn't sit right with me though, that doesn't feel as elegant as these polymorph things.
 
EDH Primers (click me!)
Deck is Kill Club
Show

User avatar
RedCheese
Posts: 187
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by RedCheese » 2 months ago

Acererak, Lord of Unlife + Rooftop Storm YOOOOOO

Ops i win combo in my Varinna here you go.

User avatar
Hermes_
Posts: 861
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Hermes_ » 2 months ago

RedCheese wrote:
2 months ago
Hermes_ wrote:
2 months ago
Sanity_Eclipse wrote:
2 months ago
Plate Armor
Voltron deck laughs and then realizes card is actually useless.....

Inferno of the Star Mounts tiem to remove one of the other dragons from my dragon deck finally
Whats wrong with Plate Armor?
What's wrong is i can't read, i thought it was +1/+1 not +3
The Secret of Commander (EDH)
Sheldon-"The secret of this format is in not breaking it. "

Arebennian
Posts: 18
Joined: 5 months ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Arebennian » 2 months ago

I'm really bad with the rules and odd stack interactions:

Acererak, Lord of Unlife + Inalla, Archmage Ritualist = ?

Can you return the card, and/or even the copy, before you have to sacrifice on of them to the legend rule?

User avatar
Dragoon
Posts: 337
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Dragoon » 2 months ago

Arebennian wrote:
2 months ago
I'm really bad with the rules and odd stack interactions:

Acererak, Lord of Unlife + Inalla, Archmage Ritualist = ?

Can you return the card, and/or even the copy, before you have to sacrifice on of them to the legend rule?
When the original ETBs, both it and Inalla will trigger. You can choose the order of resolution for those two triggers:
  • You can bounce the original in your hand, then create a token with Inalla that will also trigger and be "bounced" back to your hand (and cease to exist as soon as it leaves the battlefield)
  • You can create a copy with Inalla first, that copy will also trigger and will be put on the stack on top of the original ETB trigger. But before that trigger resolves, state-based actions will be check and you will be asked to sacrifice either the original or the token. Either way, the survivor will be bounced to your hand when its trigger resolves, and the other trigger will resolve normally, even if there's nothing to bounce.
So, assuming you haven't completed Tomb of Annihilation, the end result will be the same: two triggers of Acererak, Lord of Unlife but no version of him on the battlefield.
Decklist(s) on this forum: WUBRG [Golos] Maelstrom 2: Erratic Boogaloo (randomness themed deck) WUBRG

User avatar
Cyberium
Posts: 586
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Cyberium » 2 months ago

I'm tempted to build a Shu Yun, the Silent Tempest deck using all the right classes: Fighter Class, Monk Class, Sorcerer Class, and Wizard Class.

Not sure about Barbarian Class, Cleric Class, and Paladin Class .

User avatar
Sanity_Eclipse
Posts: 318
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Sanity_Eclipse » 2 months ago

Cyberium wrote:
2 months ago
I'm tempted to build a Shu Yun, the Silent Tempest deck using all the right classes: Fighter Class, Monk Class, Sorcerer Class, and Wizard Class.

Not sure about Barbarian Class, Cleric Class, and Paladin Class .
I was considering adding some of the classes to Narset, personally. Cleric Class, Monk Class, Paladin Class, Sorcerer Class, Wizard Class would be likely. Barbarian Class doesn't seem likely, unsure on Fighter Class due to last ability.
More Decks
Show
- Lyra - Naru Meha - Chandra - Lovisa - Nissa -
- Lavinia X - Yuriko - Jhoira - Saheeli - Glissa - Lathril - Meren - Koma -
- Anafenza - Alela - Sen Triplets - Inalla - Sidisi -
- Breya -

User avatar
Cyberium
Posts: 586
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Cyberium » 2 months ago

Sanity_Eclipse wrote:
2 months ago
unsure on Fighter Class due to last ability.
Mostly for the equipment fetch and equip cost reduction.
RxPhantom wrote:
2 months ago
brainface wrote:
2 months ago
Would Galea, Kindler of Hope work with bestow? I want to think they're not aura cards but are aura spells? Similarly sword of the realms and so forth?
Galea wouldn't work with bestow because it's not an aura when it's in your library; it's a creature and an enchantment. Same with Sword of the Realms; the game only sees it as Halvar, God of Battle when it's anywhere but the battlefield.

I'm gonna leave myself some wiggle room for someone to correct me if I'm wrong.
For reference, I asked a question a while back about Kess, Dissident Mage and adventure creatures. The thread also involves Melek, Izzet Paragon: LINK

User avatar
Sanity_Eclipse
Posts: 318
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Sanity_Eclipse » 2 months ago

That's fair, just don't level Fighter all the way. 👍
More Decks
Show
- Lyra - Naru Meha - Chandra - Lovisa - Nissa -
- Lavinia X - Yuriko - Jhoira - Saheeli - Glissa - Lathril - Meren - Koma -
- Anafenza - Alela - Sen Triplets - Inalla - Sidisi -
- Breya -

Wallycaine
Posts: 633
Joined: 2 years ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Wallycaine » 2 months ago

Dragoon wrote:
2 months ago
Arebennian wrote:
2 months ago
I'm really bad with the rules and odd stack interactions:

Acererak, Lord of Unlife + Inalla, Archmage Ritualist = ?

Can you return the card, and/or even the copy, before you have to sacrifice on of them to the legend rule?
When the original ETBs, both it and Inalla will trigger. You can choose the order of resolution for those two triggers:
  • You can bounce the original in your hand, then create a token with Inalla that will also trigger and be "bounced" back to your hand (and cease to exist as soon as it leaves the battlefield)
  • You can create a copy with Inalla first, that copy will also trigger and will be put on the stack on top of the original ETB trigger. But before that trigger resolves, state-based actions will be check and you will be asked to sacrifice either the original or the token. Either way, the survivor will be bounced to your hand when its trigger resolves, and the other trigger will resolve normally, even if there's nothing to bounce.
So, assuming you haven't completed Tomb of Annihilation, the end result will be the same: two triggers of Acererak, Lord of Unlife but no version of him on the battlefield.
There is a (not so) corner case where it makes a difference the order you do them in. If you are 1 step away from completing tomb, so whichever one resolves first will finish the tomb, and the other will remain in play (because the "if you haven't finished tomb of annihilation" is an intervening if, and thus will be checked both on triggering *and* on resolution). Then you get to choose between bouncing the original and keeping the hasty copy, or just getting the trigger off the hasty copy and keeping the original.

User avatar
Mookie
Posts: 1943
Joined: 2 years ago
Answers: 23
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: the æthereal plane

Post by Mookie » 2 months ago

Sanity_Eclipse wrote:
2 months ago
I was considering adding some of the classes to Narset, personally. Cleric Class, Monk Class, Paladin Class, Sorcerer Class, Wizard Class would be likely. Barbarian Class doesn't seem likely, unsure on Fighter Class due to last ability.
The last level of Fighter Class doesn't allow creatures to block your evasive commander, if that's what you're worried about. It actually allows for some soft evasion - if you attack with a token or something else, you can force a creature to block the token instead of your commander. That said, if you don't have any other creatures in your deck, it won't exactly be doing much in the first place.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Commander”