Yes. We do. Animatou is an ability, which since it exiles and returns a permanent tells you where it should go, since the owner and the controller might be different people. The amulet's ability is a replacement effect that affects how it enters the battlefield. So the Amulet's ability will act as a replacement to Animatou's activated ability.LastConformist wrote: ↑2 years agoAminatou, the Fateshifter explicitly says that the exiled card returns to the battlefield under your control, though. Do we know which would take precedence?DirkGently wrote: ↑2 years agoAmulet enters the battlefield under an opponents control. Blinking it will let you change the opponent but you'll still have to pick one.
To get it back, you can either...
brooding saurian-type un-theft effect
steal artifact-type take it back yourself
mirage mirror-type it was yours all along
...maybe some other sillier ways, like put it into play face-down and then figure out a way to flip it face-up without it leaving the battlefield?
You might also just get it back if they're dead...I'm not 100% clear on the rules for control effects when a player leaves the game. I think you don't, but I'm not totally sure.
If you blink the amulet, you will need to choose an opponent to give the amulet to.
614.1. Some continuous effects are replacement effects. Like prevention effects (see rule 615), replacement effects apply continuously as events happen—they aren't locked in ahead of time. Such effects watch for a particular event that would happen and completely or partially replace that event with a different event. They act like "shields" around whatever they're affecting.
614.1d Continuous effects that read "[This permanent] enters the battlefield . . ." or "[Objects] enter the battlefield . . ." are replacement effects.
Rayami only looks at actual keyword abilities. Not for the creature to be able to "gain" the ability. She only looks for the exact ability of "Double Strike." Jodah's Avenger does not have the ability "Double Strike." (He has the ability to gain that ability, but that is irrelevant)ISBPathfinder wrote: ↑2 years agoI don't believe that works as the card doesn't actually normally have that effect. It might be worth asking in the rulings section though but I don't think that works.