Skelly: The Beginning

Diz
Griever
Pronoun: she / her

Post by Diz » 3 years ago

I started playing Magic around the time the original Ravnica block was new. My interest in Magic over the years has ebbed and waned, depending on my priorities at different points in my life, but when I moved to my current locale about 5 years ago, I regained a passion for the game. TCGs have always been a big part of my life - I love coming up with different decks using cards that I find interesting, fun, and even powerful, at times, and pitting my mettle against my foes'. At one point, I had a swath of Casual-60 decks, but found that a lot of the cards I was using were better for competitive formats, or even Commander, which I picked up at the same time I started playing Magic, again. I ended up taking those Casual-60 decks apart to use the pieces to build more powerful decks in other formats, and effectively ran out of people to play Casual-60 Magic with, so I had no need for non-Legacy/non-Commander decks.

After some time passed, I made new friends, and these friends were interested in playing some casual Magic with me, so, the need arose again for me to assemble some decks of that particular variety.

I had just taken apart my Reassembling Skeleton (one of my pet cards!) Pauper Commander deck, and was very fond of a number of the combos I was running in the deck, which I felt were best ported to a format where I could have 4 copies of certain cards and not get crushed for not building something that wins by T3 or 4. I actually played a variant of this in Arena for a bit, with much success. However, Skelly rotated out of Standard, so I needed another way to play him. This began my current set of 8 Casual-60 decks, which I've been slowly posting here over time. I'm not sure I'll be able to include a story for all of them, but if there's something relevant to the deck, I'll try! :grin:

Without further ado, this is the deck that started my re-descent into Casual-60: Skelly.
Skelly