Necessary cards for Scion of the Ur-Dragon

boliver5463
Pronoun: he / him

Post by boliver5463 » 4 years ago

I recently rebuilt my Scion of the Ur-Dragon deck. I took it apart over 6 months ago. Before I took it apart, I had been playing it for over 3 years, fine tuning it for my meta.

I have other powerful decks which have a lot more low cost curves and I'm finding it a bit hard trying to win purely with dragon effects. My usual combos are Wheel + Notion Thief, Worldgorger Dragon + Animate Dead package, Niv-mizzet, Dracogenius / Paron + Curiosity / Keen Sense and Mass reanimation + Scourge of Valkas.

I feel like I've wedged to many large pieces into the deck and don't know if I should be changing the deck to focus mostly on Wheels + Worldgorger combo. But I don't want to win using the usual Hermit Druid combo, using the angel and labman route. I want the deck to win through dragons and their effects.

Am I packing too many different combos? Should I be focusing in on 1-2 combos? Or multiple combos wanted?

Tags:

Kemev
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Kemev » 4 years ago

Yeah, it sounds like there's too much different stuff going on. If you want to win with a dragon effect, I'd recommend focusing on the Dracogenius route:

1. Animate Dead (or whatever) on Worldgorger Dragon, starting the loop and floating some amount of WUBRG and infinite UR
2. Interrupt your Animate Dead loop (if you have Comet Storm, Aurelia's Fury, or Expansion // Explosion in hand, you win)
3. If you didn't win in 2, cast Scion of the Ur-Dragon. Activate its ability, finding Niv-Mizzet, Dracogenius. Shoot everyone.