darrenhabib
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by darrenhabib » 4 years ago

Decklist

Commander

Non-Vampire creatures

Instant mana

Approximate Total Cost:

I've never looked at Vampires in Magic before and I have no knowledge of their lore within the multiverse. But I started researching them for a specific card, Falkenrath Gorger.
I've helping out in a thread that's looking to use Anje Falkenrath with Worldgorger Dragon and Animate Dead and during that time I've been tempted by the dark side of bloodsucking undead and have come up with a tribal brew instead.

The only Vampire tribal decks I have played against are Edgar Markov builds and they tend to be built around cheap casting Vampires. I've been beaten within an inch of my life with them, but I've never lost a game to them. I'm not saying that they suck (got to have one pun) and can't have their good games, but they do tend to run out of steam.

This is much more of a mid-top end arrangement of Vampires. A more pure bloodline you could say. With Anje Falkenrath ability to filter cards you can afford to put in more expensive casting Vampires as you can discard them to potentially draw into cards that serve you better at a given stage.

The main idea of the deck, besides just being Vampire tribal goodstuff is to put your Vampires into torpor (graveyard) to then have them rise in a single glorious awakening (return to battlefield or hand).
With Anje Falkenrath ability to put them into your graveyard you can setup for cards Living Death, Balthor the Defiled, Patriarch's Bidding to put them all directly onto the battlefield.

There are also cards that return creatures from your crypt (graveyard) to your hand, Restless Dreams, Empty the Catacombs, Shadow of the Grave, Garna, the Bloodflame.
This allows you to get additional value out of your previous filtering, and sets you up again to get further meaningful draws by just discarding them again to Anje Falkenrath.