Playing Morph in EDH: an introduction.

Subject16
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Subject16 » 4 years ago

Amidst rumors of the next commander decks being mechanic-related and one of those mechanics being Morph, I thought I would talk to you about why it's such a great, unique mechanic, how to best use it for Commander, and then share with you my own morphmander deck that I've been running for a few years now. Morph is a much more complex mechanic than I believe it's given credit for, and with this thread I'm going to try and explain the merits of this mechanic so that people can be eager to jump on the Morph train.

Why Morph?
The biggest attribute Morph has the not often discussed value of "hidden information". Players of Gonti in EDH may relate to the power of having access to a resource that your opponents do not know. Games of Magic are incredibly open with information - at all times you know how many cards are in a player's hand; you know the contents of their graveyard; the number of untapped creatures or lands they have; all the permanents they control and the abilities they have; In most games, the hand is the only zone in the game where a player has access to hidden resources. To a studious player, threat assessment becomes about determining what cards are in that hand and what they are able to do with the mana available to them. Can they counter my next spell? Remove my creature? Are they holding up for card draw or a utility spell? Being able to anticipate and play around or bait out your opponent's hidden resources before they do yours is the key to winning games.