Tax, Tap, Destroy, casual stax

Casters Master
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Casters Master » 3 years ago

This is my first time working on a STAX deck, the play style fortunately or not is very intuitive to me naturally. Getting back into building a few Commander deck lists has been a great way to be occupied during the COVID-19 quarantine. The commander is Grand Arbiter Augustin IV, one that I cherished way back then but never built. I built this deck list myself after researching STAX.
I tried to implement the taxing and tapping elements of STAX, with counter spells and some board wipe of creatures and land to control tempo. I have lots of card draw and mana rocks to aid in card advantage and recovery of my side of the board after a global pandemic hits (board wipes like Wrath of God). My playgroup has some serious decks, and I am building my collection again from scratch.
Please give any feedback, I'd like to get a sense for this deck lists potential weaknesses and strengths. Perhaps even this deck could be cEDH, it probably is not even close due to being my own jank build but there is the dream.
SPOILER
Show
Hide
Decklist

Commander (1)

Martyr's Bond

Approximate Total Cost:

Tags:

WizardMN
Answers: 125

Post by WizardMN » 3 years ago

Well, let me preface this with "I am not a Stax player" (which is why I was hoping your Commander was Medomai the Ageless in the other thread :P ), but my cousin had a brutal deck that was a pain to play against. He shared the list with me years ago so here is what he was running:
SPOILER
Show
Hide
Decklist

General (1)

Approximate Total Cost:

Since it hasn't been updated in a long time, there are probably some newer cards that are worth adding, but this might offer some other ideas of what to add. And I know that the list is very much "not budget" but I think there are a fair amount of budget cards in the list.

Casters Master

WizardMN wrote:
3 years ago