Power Couple Enchantments - Anax and Cymede

Segrus
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Segrus » 4 years ago

Power Couple Enchantments - Anax and Cymede

Introduction - My Personal History With Boros

I started playing Magic right at the end of the Eventide set, and my first purchase was the Eventide theme deck Battle Blitz, pretty much chosen at random. Balefire Liege and Scourge of the Nobilis were some of the first cards I was exposed to, creating chaos for my friends as they scrambled to overcome the life gain during our Wild West days. From then on I've always tried to keep a Boros deck built in remembrance of that. As I built more seriously and competitively though Boros became resigned to the most casual of kitchen table settings until I finally started building for Commander.

Once I got a taste for Commander and started playing it more and more heavily, the sweet birdsong of Boros started harkening for my attention. I knew at some point I'd need to build one, so I began looking at my options: unfortunately, not great. Like everyone else around that time, the inherent focus on early game combat wouldn't typically make for a good strategy due to the general battlecruiser nature of Commander (casually speaking), and this problem was coupled with relatively poor card draw and ramp options--Aurelia, the Warleader just wasn't holding up to my friend's Edric, Spymaster of Trest deck. I tried to make Aurelia and Gisela work multiple times, helped other people try out Brion, and dabbled in Jor Kadeen before I set all those cards aside to figure out another day.

Theros is when Boros finally broke open for me, and I've updated this deck since then. You may notice this deck is not intended to be bleeding-edge competitive. I play mainly in casual circles, somewhere between 5 to 7 on a power scale to 10 (however much help that is). There is room to make the deck stronger just by including more tutors, but I don't suspect this will ever be a competitive deck.