Yawgmoth, Thran Physician - Power Through Blood and Suffering

toctheyounger
Pronoun: he / him

Post by toctheyounger » 4 years ago

Yawgmoth, Thran Physician - Power Through Blood and Suffering

"The blood of the weak shall be the ink with which we scribe great Yawgmoth's glorious name."
—Stronghold architect, journal - here

"Image"

Introduction

I'll be the first to admit, I am not traditionally familiar with mono black control. I've had a Chainer reanimator list in the past which didn't quite gel, but like many of us sadistic b fiends, upon the release of Modern Horizons I knew I had to do something with Yawgmoth, Thran Physician. The flavour is too good - he looks like an angel of death and a genius of disease, and his abilities are not only strong, but fit his pre-god lore remarkably well.

To be fair, I am fairly new to this deck. I've taken some inspiration from benjameenbear's primer and darrenhabib's Superfriends walker-focussed list, and hopefully walk a line somewhere between the two. I am, as a deck builder, very much not the sort of person who puts all of my eggs in one basket. So in that respect, I've tried to lean into some big mana, some bleeder/lifegain, and include some of the stronger walkers as utility and/or finishers, and included some options for control and removal.

I've not leaned too far into phyrexian flavour - it's totally doable, but flavourfully I see this iteration of Yawgmoth as somewhere between a sadistic butcher surgeon and a traditional vampire. He doesn't care who dies or who he kills, every drop of blood is succour to him and feeds his power. The attrition in the deck lends to this, and there's a heavy reliance on life as a resource to be harvested and used for success in the deck naturally, which is why my imagination goes there instead.

The Decklist

"

Yawgmoth - The Blood is the Life...
Approximate Total Cost:

"Image"

Strategy