Life-gain

Mass creature removal

Reanimation

Instant removal

Instant mana

Equipment

Sorcery steal/removal

Approximate Total Cost:

I have to admit a lot of this deck goes against what I normally play and even what I'd determine as good cards. Rakdos? Literally in hundreds of commander decks I've never built a Rakdos commander before. Not a fan of the color-pie or legendary line-up huh?
Turning creatures sideways? For casual play exclusively. Gaining life? Jank decks only apply.

However I've dipped my feet into the colors of pain and themes that normally I wouldn't call good. But Greven changes all that. He makes these things not only great, but as brutal as the reputation that proceeds him.

There really is an exceptional Vorthos flavor to this commander. Sacrificing creatures to gain power both figuratively (draw) and literally (stats) and expressing his rage through feeding off pain (life loss), this card has a lot of his story imprinted in this card.

What does Greven do?
Rage is the only freedom left to me.

"Image"
Master of draw
The idea is pretty simple. Use mana efficient creatures that have large power and hopefully low toughness to sacrifice to draw lots of cards. Although there is a mix that have large toughness as well so you can line up lethal or a large chunk of commander damage on opponents.

You can easily be drawing between 5-8 cards off an attack, making Greven, Predator Captain a potentially incredible card drawing machine.

The King of commander damage
I have played decks designed around killing opponents with commander damage in the past. However I would not call myself an enthusiast as often it's a hard strategy to pull off.