Endrek Sahr vs Ayara

Hazzenko
Pronoun: he / him

Post by Hazzenko » 4 years ago

I have an old Endrek Sahr, Master Breeder deck that wasn't been updated since Battle for Zendikar. It is a low budget deck, but I tried to keep good interactions. With Throne of Eldraine, Ayara, First of Locthwain seems a good addition to the deck, but then I thought that she could be better at helm instead of Endrek, with Endrek as part in the 99.

Any thought about this?
Nonsense Grenzo || Kess || Mogis || Anje || Obosh || Xantcha || Infernal Kirin || Haunt || Ayara

BaronCappuccino
Answers: 1

Post by BaronCappuccino » 4 years ago

Endrek brings something unique to the table - he's like Black's Talrand. I feel like Ayara is another of a half dozen bleeder effects and an unexciting draw. She'd be awesome in Endrek's 99, because Endrek needs to remove thrulls, and draw is a valid reward for sacrifice. The life swap for each thrull isn't unwelcome either. Endrek Sahr has several routes for going infinite or effectively infinite.

FunkyDragon

Post by FunkyDragon » 4 years ago

I was planning to build an Endrek Sar deck for quite a while but never got around to it. Then Throne of Eldraine came around, and I built Syr Konrad and threw both Endrek and Ayara in the 99. I've had them both in play, and they are both fantastic choices.

I think they obviously both want to be in each other's decks, but if I were to choose between the two, I'd probably choose Ayara for a few reasons.
- Three mana cmc vs. five mana - If Endrek dies even once, he costs seven mana; Ayara comes down sooner and gets an extra death before hitting his cost.
- Card draw - card advantage right on your commander is great.
- Endrek dies more - he has a built-in death condition and one less toughness.

Sinis
Pronoun: Unlisted

Post by Sinis » 4 years ago