[official] How long have you been playing?

motleyslayer
Pronoun: he / him

Post by motleyslayer » 4 years ago

I decided I would do a thread on how long you've been playing/what was your first set thread, mostly as a way for everyone to see how long others have been playing. I'd also like to see what kind of discussion we can get going on this topic.

I'll start: I started playing just after Darksteel. TL;DR, traded Pokemon and Yugioh for Magic cards and haven't looked back since. I was 12 going on 13 later that year and saw most of my friends had been playing for a bit longer, so I decided to join them.

I took a few year break around Planar Chaos/Future Sight due to dwindling event numbers then got back into the game in 2009/around Magic 2010 (right before I started university) and played the odd FNM and a lot of commander (especially commander later on).

Once I finished university in 2013, I played almost every local event I could find for about 2 years and got really into the game from there. Went to my first GP, GP Ottawa in 2014. In 2015, with the advent of the PPTQ/RPTQ system I down right into competitive events for several years. I still love comp level events but don't make it out to them as much anymore

void_nothing
Look On My Sash...
Answers: 124

Post by void_nothing » 4 years ago

Since Nemesis, when I was 8 years old. Inauspicious set and block to start on, I know, but that does mean that pretty soon I'll have been playing Magic for 20 years.
Psst, check the second page of Custom Card Contests & Games! Because of the daily contests, a lot of games fall down to there.

The greatest (fake) pro wrestling on the internet - Collaborative Create-A-Booster - My random creations (updated regularly)

Important Facts: Colorless is not a color, Wastes is not a land type, Changeling is not a creature type

motleyslayer

Post by motleyslayer » 4 years ago

void_nothing wrote:
4 years ago