Newbie rules mistakes you did when you were new to mtg?

User avatar
Mookie
Posts: 607
Joined: 7 months ago
Answers: 12
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: the æthereal plane
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Post by Mookie » 4 months ago

Not tapping lands (or attacking creatures). Coming from a board gaming background, the idea that the orientation of a card was itself an expendable resource wasn't particularly obvious.

Also: various woes related to Deadeye Navigator. It's a lot harder to kill when you don't understand how the stack (and triggers) work.

Assigning order to blockers, only to be blown out by a combat trick on the first blocker (and thus not getting to kill any of them) is still a thing I'm not a huge fan of.

User avatar
The Fluff
is this so?
Posts: 1010
Joined: 7 months ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Cape Suzette
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 50 times
Contact:

Post by The Fluff » 4 months ago

[mention]kwanyeegor-ii[/mention]

it's understandable that a new player might have that interpretation of the rules. Defender means to defend after all. :cool:

[mention]Mookie[/mention]

whoa, all creatures and lands have vigilance. That's sort of a broken rules mistake. :grin:
Expand Signature
Image
OE 2016 // POF 2018 // Super Bunny Man // Rachie
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

Theoric
Posts: 58
Joined: 7 months ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Post by Theoric » 4 months ago

I started playing around 1997. One of the things we'd do was attempt to cast a spell but pay no mana, so it fails and goes into the graveyard. We'd usually do that with creatures and one of my favorite plays was putting spirit of the night in the graveyard (which was a devastating creature at the time) and casting animate dead on it. We were oblivious to the fact pro-black creatures couldn't have black enchantments on them either.

We also thought lands were colored permanents so cards saying things like "destroy all white permanents" would kill everyone's plains.

FrostNova
Posts: 15
Joined: 5 months ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by FrostNova » 3 months ago

I remember mistakes from my friend like this:

- Cast Abeyance as thought it were a counterspell
- Tap Elf for mana because Haste wasn't keyworded yet
- Think that protection from white protects from Wrath of God
- You have two Zuran Orb, think that you can sacrifice one land and pay for the cost of both artifacts at the same time, thus multiplying the benefit
- At the beginning of your next upkeep, draw a card. He thought that "next upkeep" meant the next next upkeep (count two turns)

It's incredible how magic is really hard to understand. Something might be obvious, but players do make mistakes because it isn't.

User avatar
The Fluff
is this so?
Posts: 1010
Joined: 7 months ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Cape Suzette
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 50 times
Contact:

Post by The Fluff » 3 months ago

[mention]Theoric[/mention]

lands being colored is a common misconception among our local group as well. We thought Wash Out returns forests. Making the card sort of broken, espescially against mono green decks. :party:

[mention]FrostNova[/mention]
- Tap Elf for mana because Haste wasn't keyworded yet
my cousin did something similar. He just played a llanowar elves. When opponent takes their turn, cousin thinks llanowar elves has no more summoning sickness.

agreed, mtg can be hard to understand at first. :)
Expand Signature
Image
OE 2016 // POF 2018 // Super Bunny Man // Rachie
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

FrostNova
Posts: 15
Joined: 5 months ago
Pronoun: he / him

Post by FrostNova » 3 months ago

Jet Medallion. Before the introduction of the colorless mana symbol c me and my friends belived that costing 1 less meant the converted mana cost itself, not the "any color of mana" part of the cost. Back then it was really easy to think that Add 2 meant 2 mana of any color.

tempoEDH
Posts: 71
Joined: 4 months ago
Pronoun: he / him
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Post by tempoEDH » 3 months ago

Oh man. Some of these are pretty good :D.
When me and my friends first started out, we had a LOT of misconceptions, so I'll just name the major ones.
You can play as many basic lands as you want each turn, but only one nonbasic land (in addition to any basics)
You draw at the end of your turn
Tokens belong in your deck
When something refers to Sacrificing a Creature, it meant you could sacrifice ANY creature, not just one you controlled. Naturally this made Viscera Seer a bit broken...
When you use Llanowar Elves, or something similar, you search for a land and put it on the field. When I say something similar, I mean like also Gruul Guildgate.
When you tap a guildgate or other dual land, you add BOTH mana, not one or the other. This was after our "searches for a land" phase or this would have been CRAZY
Hand limit was optional
Reaching 100 life won you the game
Vigilance Meant it could attack again, since it wasn't tapped.... and again, and again, and again.... Anything with vigilance could attack infinite times
Each turn you draw until you have 7 cards in hand, instead of just drawing one
These are just overall rules issues, not including any single card misconceptions, which of course there were plenty of.
Obviously we've progressed a LOT since our beginnings, but I had a pretty corrupted start to magic :D
Expand Signature
Current Decks:
Alesha, Who Smiles at Death EDH
Karlov of the Ghost Council EDH
Sidisi, Brood Tyrant EDH
Edgar Markov EDH
Emmara, Soul of the Accord EDH
Yarok, the Desecrated EDH
Cavalcade Standard
Current Projects:
Marisi, Breaker of the Coil EDH
Grenzo, Dungeon Warden EDH
Uro, Titan of Nature's Wrath EDH

User avatar
The Fluff
is this so?
Posts: 1010
Joined: 7 months ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Cape Suzette
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 50 times
Contact:

Post by The Fluff » 2 months ago

[mention]FrostNova[/mention]

that rules mistake made all the medallions super efficient cost reducers. :p

[mention]tempoEDH[/mention]
You can play as many basic lands as you want each turn, but only one nonbasic land (in addition to any basics)
this is what Azusa should have been. just kidding :p
You draw at the end of your turn
free dark confidant. although he only sneaks up when the turn ends
Tokens belong in your deck
will be large decklist..
When something refers to Sacrificing a Creature, it meant you could sacrifice ANY creature, not just one you controlled. Naturally this made Viscera Seer a bit broken...
viscera seer is also now a board wipe

hahaha, seriously you made me laugh in the morning with those. good one. :D
Expand Signature
Image
OE 2016 // POF 2018 // Super Bunny Man // Rachie
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “General Discussion”