lifelink granting aura vs sacrifice

Community RulesCommunity Rules: Rulings Rules
Use Card Tags! ‖ Rulings Mods
User avatar
folding_music
unimportant kind of lizard
Posts: 311
Joined: 7 months ago
Pronoun: they / them
Has thanked: 123 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Post by folding_music » 1 month ago

Gangrenous Zombies
Hopeful Eidolon

do I have this right? Playing the Zombies' ability makes the bestowed Eidolon fall off the card so lifelink does not end up attached to the ability's damage? thanks

Accepted Answer

by WizardMN » 1 month ago
That is incorrect. Whenever an ability needs information about the source (say, to see if it has Deathtouch or Lifelink) it looks at what that source looks like currently. If, as is the case here, that source is no longer in the zone it is expected to be in, it looks at the Last Known Information of that source. Which is the information about the source as it last existed on the battlefield. And, as the Zombie last existed on the battlefield, it had lifelink. So, the damage the ability deals will result in life being gained.
Go to full post
Expand Signature

User avatar
CalebLost
The Prince of the Ravens
Posts: 73
Joined: 7 months ago
Answers: 4
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Pistoia, Italy
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Post by CalebLost » 1 month ago

edit: SORRY, I read the ability without the sacrifice part of the cost :omg:
Yeah you are right, to activate you need to sacrifice the zombie, so once the ability resolves zombie will already be dead and eidolon is no longer attached granting lifelink

The damage is dealt simultaneously to all creatures so you gain life because zombies are still enchanted with 2 damage on them, after the SBEs are checked all creatures with lethal damage marked will die and then eidolon falls off,
Expand Signature
Current Duel Commander Decks
EnemyShard
Meren Zur
Rashmi
Jhoira
Tajic

User avatar
WizardMN
Posts: 377
Joined: 7 months ago
Answers: 25
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Twin Cities
Has thanked: 141 times
Been thanked: 105 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by WizardMN » 1 month ago

That is incorrect. Whenever an ability needs information about the source (say, to see if it has Deathtouch or Lifelink) it looks at what that source looks like currently. If, as is the case here, that source is no longer in the zone it is expected to be in, it looks at the Last Known Information of that source. Which is the information about the source as it last existed on the battlefield. And, as the Zombie last existed on the battlefield, it had lifelink. So, the damage the ability deals will result in life being gained.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”