Bloodbaron vs Angler

Community RulesCommunity Rules: Rulings Rules
Use Card Tags! ‖ Rulings Mods
User avatar
The Fluff
is this so?
Posts: 1567
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Gradius Home World
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by The Fluff » 8 months ago

Hi, for example an opponent attacks with Gurmag Angler, I block with Blood Baron of Vizkopa. Opponent cast Temur Battle Rage on angler. How much damage do I receive?

Accepted Answer

by WizardMN » 8 months ago
Blood Baron of Vizkopa

I am going to assume Blood Baron is still a 4/4.

In this case, the Angler will need to assign at least 4 damage to the Blood Baron you they can trample over for the other 1 damage to you. This is in the First Strike Damage Step. Then, the game moves to the Normal Damage step and they need to assign 4 again to Blood Baron since no damage is currently marked on it (the damage was prevented) and then the other 1 can trample over.

So, if they choose to assign the maximum damage to you as possible, you will take 2 damage.
Go to full post
Expand Signature
Image
Quarantined Rapport 2 - EFZ Tournament (english commentary) // OE 2016 // POF 2018
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

User avatar
WizardMN
Posts: 748
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 34
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Twin Cities
Has thanked: 385 times
Been thanked: 288 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by WizardMN » 8 months ago

Blood Baron of Vizkopa

I am going to assume Blood Baron is still a 4/4.

In this case, the Angler will need to assign at least 4 damage to the Blood Baron you they can trample over for the other 1 damage to you. This is in the First Strike Damage Step. Then, the game moves to the Normal Damage step and they need to assign 4 again to Blood Baron since no damage is currently marked on it (the damage was prevented) and then the other 1 can trample over.

So, if they choose to assign the maximum damage to you as possible, you will take 2 damage.

User avatar
The Fluff
is this so?
Posts: 1567
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Gradius Home World
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by The Fluff » 8 months ago

thanks for the detailed explanation. Ah, so that's how it works. 2 damage to me, then I gain 4 life from the lifelink of the baron.

Follow up question, if I have only 2 life left, would I lose from the 2 damage? Or would I gain life from the lifelink of the baron before the 2 trample damage from the angler happens?
Expand Signature
Image
Quarantined Rapport 2 - EFZ Tournament (english commentary) // OE 2016 // POF 2018
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

User avatar
WizardMN
Posts: 748
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 34
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Twin Cities
Has thanked: 385 times
Been thanked: 288 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by WizardMN » 8 months ago

In the First Strike Damage Step, you will go down to 1 from the 1 damage taken from the Angler. Then, in Normal Combat Damage, you will simultaneously take 1 more damage while also gaining 4 life from the damage the Baron deals to the Angler. You will end up at 4 life thanks to Lifelink.

If you had been at 1 life (or Angler's power was greater than 5) you would have lost in the First Strike Damage Step before Baron could deal damage.

User avatar
The Fluff
is this so?
Posts: 1567
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Gradius Home World
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by The Fluff » 8 months ago

very useful info. thanks ::)
Expand Signature
Image
Quarantined Rapport 2 - EFZ Tournament (english commentary) // OE 2016 // POF 2018
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”