Horror of the Broken Lands

Community RulesCommunity Rules: Rulings Rules
Use Card Tags! ‖ Rulings Mods
User avatar
The Fluff
is this so?
Posts: 1568
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Gradius Home World
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by The Fluff » 8 months ago

Hi, just a minor question on Horror of the Broken Lands. Would it's ability trigger twice if I discarded two cards to Collective Brutality, horror get a total of +4/+2 because two cards were discarded?

Accepted Answer

by WiseWarriorQc » 8 months ago
Absolutely. For a triggered ability, each matching trigger event is considered individually, no matter if it happens simultaneously with another instance of the same event, even as part of applying a single effect or paying a single cost (like in Collective Brutality's case). The Horror sees two events of you discarding a card, so it triggers twice.
Go to full post
Expand Signature
Image
Quarantined Rapport 2 - EFZ Tournament (english commentary) // OE 2016 // POF 2018
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

User avatar
WiseWarriorQc
Posts: 20
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 13
Pronoun: he / him
Been thanked: 13 times

Titles & Recognition

Post by WiseWarriorQc » 8 months ago

Absolutely. For a triggered ability, each matching trigger event is considered individually, no matter if it happens simultaneously with another instance of the same event, even as part of applying a single effect or paying a single cost (like in Collective Brutality's case). The Horror sees two events of you discarding a card, so it triggers twice.
Last edited by WiseWarriorQc 8 months ago, edited 1 time in total.
Expand Signature
I'm a former judge (lapsed), who keeps up to date on rules and policy. Keep in mind that judges' answers aren't necessarily more valid than those of people who aren't judges; what matters is we can quote the rules to back up our answers. When in doubt, ask for such quotes.

User avatar
Moth
Posts: 45
Joined: 11 months ago
Pronoun: he / him
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Post by Moth » 8 months ago

Each of the discards happen simultaneously but are their own specific entity, so Horror of the Broken Lands would get two buffs of +2/+1.

Also thank you [mention]WiseWarriorQc[/mention] for being slightly faster than I.

User avatar
The Fluff
is this so?
Posts: 1568
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Gradius Home World
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by The Fluff » 8 months ago

[mention]WiseWarriorQc[/mention] [mention]Moth[/mention]

ok, thanks both for the answers. Had a minor argument with someone about this. Now it's solved. :)
Expand Signature
Image
Quarantined Rapport 2 - EFZ Tournament (english commentary) // OE 2016 // POF 2018
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”