Grapeshot vs Dragon's Claw

Community RulesCommunity Rules: Rulings Rules
Use Card Tags! ‖ Rulings Mods
User avatar
The Fluff
is this so?
Posts: 1568
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Gradius Home World
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by The Fluff » 8 months ago

Hi, if I have a dragon's claw in play. Opponent storm a grapeshot for 8 storm. Do I take 8 damage, or did I gain 1 life for each copy of grapeshot because of the dragon's claw?

Accepted Answer

by Mookie » 8 months ago
You'll gain one life total - Dragon's Claw triggers off spells being cast, and the Storm copies of Grapeshot aren't cast - they're just copied and put directly onto the stack, which means you don't gain life for them. You will have, presumably, gained life from any red spells previously cast to build storm count though. Net effect is thus a net loss of seven life, assuming nothing else happens.
Go to full post
Expand Signature
Image
Quarantined Rapport 2 - EFZ Tournament (english commentary) // OE 2016 // POF 2018
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

User avatar
Mookie
Posts: 1021
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 16
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: the æthereal plane
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Post by Mookie » 8 months ago

You'll gain one life total - Dragon's Claw triggers off spells being cast, and the Storm copies of Grapeshot aren't cast - they're just copied and put directly onto the stack, which means you don't gain life for them. You will have, presumably, gained life from any red spells previously cast to build storm count though. Net effect is thus a net loss of seven life, assuming nothing else happens.

User avatar
Sojourner Dusk
Dominarian Hitchhiker
Posts: 159
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Blind Eternities
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Post by Sojourner Dusk » 8 months ago

You gain 1 life for Grapeshot being cast. The storm copies are put onto the stack above the original Grapeshot, not cast, so Dragon's Claw does not trigger for the copies. You then take 1 damage eight times (provided Grapeshot is the eighth spell being cast this turn in the example), provided you are the target for Grapeshot and all copies and the stack resolves.
Expand Signature
May your games be chaotic and your decks be rogue.



UBR Nekusar (EDH)
RGW Mayael, Naturally (EDH)

User avatar
The Fluff
is this so?
Posts: 1568
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Gradius Home World
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by The Fluff » 8 months ago

thanks both for the clarification on this. It helps. :)
Expand Signature
Image
Quarantined Rapport 2 - EFZ Tournament (english commentary) // OE 2016 // POF 2018
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”