Tournament Grounds question

Community RulesCommunity Rules: Rulings Rules
Use Card Tags! ‖ Rulings Mods
User avatar
The Fluff
is this so?
Posts: 1567
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Gradius Home World
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by The Fluff » 9 months ago

Hi, is it possible to use the black mana from tournament grounds to cast the "adventure" of adventure cards. For example, using the black mana to cast Alter Fate in Order of Midnight.

Accepted Answer

by Mookie » 9 months ago
No, it is not possible. Alter Fate is a Sorcery with the Adventure subtype, and not a Knight spell.

Referencing the rulings:
When casting a spell as an Adventure, use the alternative characteristics and ignore all of the card's normal characteristics. 
The spell's color, mana cost, converted mana cost, and so on are determined by only those alternative characteristics. 
If the spell leaves the stack, it immediately resumes using its normal characteristics.
You could use it to cast Nameless Inversion or another instant or sorcery with Changeling, but other than that, instants and sorceries generally don't have creature types, and thus can't be cast with Tournament Grounds.
Go to full post
Expand Signature
Image
Quarantined Rapport 2 - EFZ Tournament (english commentary) // OE 2016 // POF 2018
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

User avatar
Mookie
Posts: 1020
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 16
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: the æthereal plane
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Post by Mookie » 9 months ago

No, it is not possible. Alter Fate is a Sorcery with the Adventure subtype, and not a Knight spell.

Referencing the rulings:
When casting a spell as an Adventure, use the alternative characteristics and ignore all of the card's normal characteristics. 
The spell's color, mana cost, converted mana cost, and so on are determined by only those alternative characteristics. 
If the spell leaves the stack, it immediately resumes using its normal characteristics.
You could use it to cast Nameless Inversion or another instant or sorcery with Changeling, but other than that, instants and sorceries generally don't have creature types, and thus can't be cast with Tournament Grounds.

User avatar
The Fluff
is this so?
Posts: 1567
Joined: 1 year ago
Pronoun: Unlisted
Location: Gradius Home World
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by The Fluff » 9 months ago

ok, thanks for clearing that up. :)
Expand Signature
Image
Quarantined Rapport 2 - EFZ Tournament (english commentary) // OE 2016 // POF 2018
want to play a uw control deck in modern, but don't have Jace or snapcaster? please come visit us at the Emeria thread

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”