Volrath the Shapestealer and Pack Rat

Community RulesCommunity Rules: Rulings Rules
Use Card Tags! ‖ Rulings Mods
User avatar
pokken
Posts: 2230
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 2
Pronoun: he / him
Has thanked: 828 times
Been thanked: 628 times

Titles & Recognition

Post by pokken » 9 months ago

If you make Volrath, the shapestealer into a pack rat, does it make 7/5 pack rats with the ability to change form?

It feels like the templating of pack rat allows that; the pack rat ability is "Create a copy of pack rat."

Accepted Answer

by WizardMN » 9 months ago
Yes. Both the ability and the P/T change are part of the copiable values so if you activate the ability to make a copy of "this object" it will create a 7/5 Rat that can make more 7/5 rats and each can change form with the "Volrath" ability.

Also, as you already seem to have deduced, because the P/T is being defined, the Characteristic Defining Ability of the Rat does not exist on Volrath. They will always be 7/5
Go to full post
Expand Signature
EDH
UW Ephara Hatebears [Primer], UBWR Opus Thief CEDH, URG Omnath Rug elemental landfall

User avatar
WizardMN
Posts: 748
Joined: 1 year ago
Answers: 34
Pronoun: he / him
Location: Twin Cities
Has thanked: 385 times
Been thanked: 288 times
Contact:

Titles & Recognition

Post by WizardMN » 9 months ago

Yes. Both the ability and the P/T change are part of the copiable values so if you activate the ability to make a copy of "this object" it will create a 7/5 Rat that can make more 7/5 rats and each can change form with the "Volrath" ability.

Also, as you already seem to have deduced, because the P/T is being defined, the Characteristic Defining Ability of the Rat does not exist on Volrath. They will always be 7/5

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”