Rankle, Master of Pranks Madness Question

Community RulesCommunity Rules: Rulings Rules
Use Card Tags! ‖ Rulings Mods
User avatar
ISBPathfinder
Bebopin
Posts: 482
Joined: 8 months ago
Pronoun: he / him
Location: SD, USA
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Titles & Recognition

Post by ISBPathfinder » 2 months ago

If I hit an opponent with Rankle, Master of Pranks and choose modes 1 & 3, if I discard a madness card do I get to cast it before the other modes of Rankle resolve? I suspect it won't be until all of the modes of Rankle resolve but I just wanted a clarification.

Accepted Answer

by WiseWarriorQc » 2 months ago
Your assumption is correct, it's all one triggered ability, so nothing else will go on the stack until the ability is done resolving. So a madness creature discarded to the 1st mode will not be on the battlefield to be sacrificed to the 3rd mode.
Go to full post
Expand Signature
[EDH] Sram (auras) | Edgar Markov | Bruna | Jori En | Heliod | Sai
[Modern] Allies

User avatar
WiseWarriorQc
Posts: 20
Joined: 6 months ago
Answers: 13
Pronoun: he / him
Been thanked: 13 times

Titles & Recognition

Post by WiseWarriorQc » 2 months ago

Your assumption is correct, it's all one triggered ability, so nothing else will go on the stack until the ability is done resolving. So a madness creature discarded to the 1st mode will not be on the battlefield to be sacrificed to the 3rd mode.
Expand Signature
I'm a former judge (lapsed), who keeps up to date on rules and policy. Keep in mind that judges' answers aren't necessarily more valid than those of people who aren't judges; what matters is we can quote the rules to back up our answers. When in doubt, ask for such quotes.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Rulings”